Hawks, Eagles, and Falcons in Idaho

Idaho’s diverse landscape harbors a remarkable assortment of raptors, encompassing hawks, eagles, and falcons. The iconic bald eagle and the agile red-tailed hawk are prominent residents. At the same time, the peregrine falcon’s swift aerial pursuits and the northern harrier’s low-hunting flights add to the state’s avian diversity, reflecting Idaho’s varied ecosystems and vibrant wildlife.

Hawks Eagles and Falcons in Idaho (ID)

List of Different Types of Hawks, Eagles, and Falcons in Idaho


There are only two types of eagles native to Idaho.

  • Bald Eagle
  • Golden Eagle


  • Sharp-shinned Hawk
  • Cooper’s Hawk
  • American Goshawk
  • Swainson’s Hawk
  • Red-tailed Hawk
  • Rough-legged Hawk
  • Ferruginous Hawk (Accidental)
  • Red-shouldered Hawk (Accidental)
  • Broad-winged Hawk (Accidental)

The smallest hawk in the state is the sharp-shinned hawk, while the ferruginous hawk is the largest. The Cooper’s hawk is also a small species inhabiting Idaho’s woodlands. The red-tailed hawk is the most common. The Swainson’s hawk has a breeding range extending throughout the state.


All four native falcons nest in the state. On the contrary, the gyrfalcon is a rare winter visitor from the Arctic. The peregrine falcon is the official state raptor. 


  • Osprey


  • Northern Harrier

If you want to spot the northern harrier, you should head to the state’s marshes, open grasslands, or fields. The City Rocks National Reserve is excellent for watching golden eagles and prairie falcons. On the other hand, Henrys State Park has red-tailed and Swainson’s hawks. The Eagle Island state park also offers opportunities to watch the aforementioned two types of hawks along with ospreys and American kestrels.

Subscribe our newsletter

Enter your email here to stay updated with the animal kingdom