Hawks, Eagles, and Falcons in Indiana

Indiana’s skies are graced by notable hawks, eagles, and falcons, like bald eagles, red-tailed hawks, and peregrine falcons. These birds of prey symbolize Indiana’s biodiversity, contributing to ecosystem health by regulating pest populations and exemplifying the state’s vibrant wildlife.

Hawks Eagles and Falcons in Indiana (IN)

List of Different Types of Hawks, Eagles, and Falcons in Indiana


There are only two types of eagles native to the state.

The bald eagle was removed from the federal list of endangered species in 2007, but Indiana could pull it out from its endangered list only in 2008. Currently, there are around 350 nesting pairs in the state.


  • Sharp-shinned Hawk
  • Cooper’s Hawk
  • American Goshawk
  • Red-shouldered Hawk
  • Broad-winged Hawk
  • Red-tailed Hawk
  • Rough-legged Hawk
  • Ferruginous Hawk (Accidental)
  • Swainson’s Hawk (Accidental)

You will find the red-tailed, Cooper’s, broad-winged, red-shouldered, and sharp-shinned hawks in central Indiana. All the said hawks, along with the rough-legged species, are also common in the northern part of the state. Southern Indiana, additionally, has the American goshawk because of its abundance of thickly wooded regions. The sharp-shinned and Cooper’s hawks are counted among the smallest in the state.



  • Osprey


  • Northern Harrier

Indiana is famous for the spectacular views it offers of hawk migration. Indiana Dunes National Park in Porter is the best in this regard. The Kankakee Sands is an excellent place for rough-legged hawk sightings. Patoka, Monroe, and Mississinewa Lakes are great places to visit if you want to do some eagle-watching on your own.

Subscribe our newsletter

Enter your email here to stay updated with the animal kingdom