Hawks, Eagles, and Falcons in Utah

Utah’s varied landscapes influence the diversity of the hawks, eagles, and falcons living here. The golden eagle’s presence in its arid deserts showcases adaptation, while the prairie falcon’s hunting skills suit open areas. The peregrine falcon’s urban presence underscores adaptability, and the Swainson’s hawk’s migratory route highlights the state’s ecological importance for these birds of prey.

Hawks Eagles and Falcons in Utah (UT)

List of Different Types of Hawks, Eagles, and Falcons in Utah


There are two types of eagles native to Utah.

  • Bald Eagle
  • Golden Eagle

The bald eagle can be viewed in most of the northern part of the state.


  • Sharp-shinned Hawk
  • Cooper’s Hawk
  • American Goshawk
  • Swainson’s Hawk
  • Red-tailed Hawk
  • Rough-legged Hawk
  • Ferruginous Hawk
  • Zone-tailed Hawk (Accidental)
  • Common Black Hawk (Accidental)
  • Gray Hawk (Accidental)
  • Red-shouldered Hawk (Accidental)
  • Broad-winged Hawk (Accidental)

The smallest hawk in Utah is the sharp-shinned hawk. The regal ferruginous hawk, the largest in the state, befits the windswept plains and expansive skies of the Beehive State. The large rough-legged hawk can be seen in most of northern Utah. It is well adapted to the coldest, harshest climates. So when most birds leave the state in December, the rough-legged hawk is just arriving.



  • Osprey


  • Northern Harrier

Sanpete Valley is the hangout for many bald eagles in the winter. You can see them sitting there on fence posts, poles, trees, and even on the ground. Bird watchers can also view golden eagles, red-tailed hawks, Swainson’s hawks, and kestrels at this place.

Subscribe our newsletter

Enter your email here to stay updated with the animal kingdom