Hawks, Eagles, and Falcons in North Dakota

North Dakota’s native hawks, eagles, and falcons include the ferruginous hawk, known for its large size and prairie habitat preference. The bald eagle, a national symbol, thrives around waterways. At the same time, the American kestrel is a colorful falcon commonly seen across the state’s diverse landscapes. There are many more such unique raptors that speak volumes about the rich avian wildlife of North Dakota.

Hawks Eagles and Falcons in North Dakota (ND)

List of Different Types of Hawks, Eagles, and Falcons in North Dakota


There are two types of eagles native to North Dakota.

  • Bald Eagle
  • Golden Eagle

With their numbers increasing in the state, bald eagles can be seen across North Dakota at any time of the year. Their migration season is March/April or October/November. Active use of the nest sites occurs in the spring.


  • Cooper’s Hawk
  • Broad-winged Hawk
  • Swainson’s Hawk
  • Red-tailed Hawk
  • Ferruginous Hawk
  • Rough-legged Hawk (Accidental)
  • Red-shouldered Hawk (Accidental)
  • American Goshawk (Accidental)
  • Sharp-shinned Hawk (Accidental)

The red-tailed hawk can survive in different environments, such as open green fields, grasslands, woodlands, and even urban areas of North Dakota. Including telephone poles in the cities has helped to increase their population as they use them as elevated perches. The large Swainsaon’s hawk has a variable plumage and occurs in the state from April to September.



  • Osprey


  • Northern Harrier

The northern harrier flies low; you can find them in fields, open grasslands, or marshes.

The Cooper’s hawk nests in wooded urban areas from April to October. You can spot them in Pembina Hills. The red-tailed hawk is commonly viewed in the Turtle Mountains, across the Missouri Coteau, up to the South Dakota border.

Subscribe our newsletter

Enter your email here to stay updated with the animal kingdom