Hawks, Eagles, and Falcons in Arizona

Arizona has many species of raptors, like hawks, eagles, and falcons, in all sorts of habitats. Sharp-shinned hawks are the smallest in the Grand Canyon State and are incredibly athletic and acrobatic. It takes work to tell one raptor from another. So, the pictures go a long way in helping their identification.

Hawks Eagles and Falcons in Arizona (AZ)

List of Different Types of Hawks, Eagles, and Falcons in Arizona



  • Red-tailed Hawk
  • Sharp-shinned Hawk
  • Cooper’s Hawk
  • Broad-winged Hawk
  • Northern Goshawk
  • Rough-legged Hawk
  • Common Black Hawk
  • Harris’s Hawk
  • Gray Hawk
  • Swainson’s Hawk
  • Zone-tailed Hawk
  • Ferruginous Hawk

The above are the most common hawks of Arizona. But a few accidental species also occur here. The short-tailed hawk is being increasingly sighted near the state’s border but is less common than the others on this list. Likewise, the white-tailed hawk is extremely rare in the state. Red-shouldered hawks, another accidental species, can be found only in areas like Tucson and Phoenix.


The peregrine falcon, the fastest animal on the planet, is the most common falcon native to the state. The American kestrel is the smallest falcon in Arizona, almost the same size as the American robin.


  • Osprey


  • Northern Harrier

The hawks of Arizona can be seen in parts of central Arizona near Flagstaff, Coconino National Forest, and Tonto National Forest. The latter is an excellent breeding ground for the bald eagle along portions of the Verde and Salt Rivers.

Subscribe our newsletter

Enter your email here to stay updated with the animal kingdom