Hawks, Eagles, and Falcons in Massachusetts

The bald eagle’s successful recovery and the peregrine falcon’s restoration highlight Massachusetts’ raptor conservation efforts. It signifies a healthy environment across the state’s varied landscapes.

Hawks Eagles and Falcons in Massachusetts (MA)

List of Different Types of Hawks, Eagles, and Falcons in Massachusetts


There are only two types of eagles native to Massachusetts.

  • Bald Eagle
  • Golden Eagle
  • Steller’s Sea-eagle (Accidental)

A lone Steller’s sea-eagle, a rare Asian species, was spotted along the Taunton River in 2021. It caused birders to flock to the state to catch a glimpse of the giant, majestic eagle native to Russia, China, Japan, and Korea.


  • Sharp-shinned Hawk
  • Cooper’s Hawk
  • American Goshawk
  • Red-shouldered Hawk
  • Broad-winged Hawk
  • Red-tailed Hawk
  • Rough-legged Hawk
  • Swainson’s Hawk (Accidental)
  • Zone-tailed Hawk (Accidental)

The smallest hawk in the state is the sharp-shinned hawk. Though not as common as the large red-tailed hawk, it can be found year-round in Massachusetts. The rough-legged hawk is also less common, except in the winter.



  • Osprey


  • Northern Harrier

The two best places to go hawk-watching during the fall migration are Wachusett Mountain and Mount Watatic. The former records around 11,000 hawks per season since 1977. The same is 6,000 for the latter since 1987. For watching the spring migration, birders can head to Plum Island Hawk Watch and the Head of the Meadow Beach. Bald eagle nests can be seen in Watuppa Pond in Fall River, Assawompset Pond in Lakeville, and Halfway Pond in Plymouth.

Subscribe our newsletter

Enter your email here to stay updated with the animal kingdom